Operation Preferences

Click on the Preferences button in the main toolbar to access the preferences screen. On the Operation page, you can configure how AceText interacts with other applications.

Double-clicking and Ctrl+Enter

Double-clicking and pressing Ctrl+Enter on the keyboard always have the same effect in AceText. You can perform the same action whether you prefer to use the mouse, or the keyboard.

If you turn on the "copy" option, AceText will place the double-clicked clip onto the Windows clipboard. You can then paste it yourself wherever you want. This makes double-clicking a shortcut for the Copy to Clipboard button.

If you turn on the "send" option, AceText will activate the application that was active before you switched to AceText, and paste the clip into that application. If the clip contains parameters, AceText will substitute them and prompt if needed. If the application is not AceText-aware, the clip will be copied to the Windows clipboard, even if you turned off the "copy" option.

If you select either or both options, you can also make AceText hide itself after copying or sending the clip. Turning on both the "send" and "hide" options effectively permanently activates AcePaste. Whenever you double-click a clip, it will be pasted into the application you are working with, even when you did not press the AcePaste hotkey.

Note that there still is one difference. When you press the AcePaste hotkey and then double-click a clip, it will be sent to the application that was active when you pressed the AcePaste hotkey, even if you switched to another application before double-clicking the clip. If you double-click a clip without pressing the AcePaste hotkey first, it is sent to the application that was last active (except for AceText itself, of course).

If the text of a clip consists solely of a URL, you can configure AceText to open that URL in the default web browser when you double-click on the clip in the clip tree. This option overrides the "copy" and "send" options for URL clips. The URL will open in the browser, without being copied to the clipboard or being sent to the previously active application.

Note that the last option does not affect double-clicking on the URL itself in the AceText editor. Double-clicking directly on a URL always opens it in the default web browser. The option affects double-clicking the clip's label in the clip tree.

Adding and Editing Clips

Turn on "focus Label box instead of Text box when adding a clip" if you like to give all your clips a label when adding them. Turn it off if you prefer to type in the clip's text straight away. If you don't type in a label, AceText will use the first 40 character of the clip as the label.

Turn on "use the full path as the label when adding a text file as a new clip" if you want the Create Clip from Text File command to use the full path, e.g. c:\My Documents\file.txt, as the clip's label. If you turn this off, only the file name, e.g. file1.txt, is used as the label.

When web browsers copy text to the clipboard, they include the source URL and the title of the web page. AceText automatically captures such clips as web snippets that store the URL in a separate field. If you turn on "use the title of the web page as the label when capturing text copied from a browser" then the title of the web page is used as the label of the clip. If you turn this option off, then the clip will have no label, and the start of the text that you copied will appear in the list of clips. Using the page title as the label helps identify the page that you copied the text from. But if you copy multiple bits of text from the same page then you'll have multiple clips with the same label which makes them harder to distinguish.

Turn on "update date and time stamp whenever a clip is edited" to use the date and time field of each clip as an automatic "last modified" indicator. Whenever you make a change to a clip, its date and time will be set to the current date and time. Regardless of this setting, when you add a new clip, AceText will assign it the current date and time. You can change the date and time on a clip as you want. However, if the "update date and time stamp" option is on, if you make another change after setting the clip's date or time, AceText will again automatically stamp the clip with the current date and time.

Automatic capture

The Windows clipboard can only hold one piece of information, which is often insufficient. AceText's ClipHistory, however, can hold as many clips as you want. If you turn on automatic capture (it's on by default), whenever you copy some text to the Windows clipboard, AceText will grab it and put it at the top of the ClipHistory. That way, you can easily work with many bits of text.

The ClipHistory will only capture text copied by other applications. It will not capture text or clips you copied using AceText, since that text is already stored in AceText. If you use a well-behaved clipboard extender, AceText will also ignore the clipboard extender's activity.

To keep AceText from wasting your computer's memory, AceText will not automatically capture very large blocks of text. By default, text longer than 64 KB (about 15 pages of text) is not automatically captured. You can increase this limit up to 32 MB. This limit only affects the automatic capture. If you press the ClipHistory capture hotkey or otherwise transfer text into AceText, AceText will accept any size of text. AceText can easily handle clips that are many megabytes in size.

To prevent the ClipHistory from growing too large, and amassing heaps of obsolete clips, AceText will limit the number of clips stored in the ClipHistory. The default is 1,000 clips. You can increase it to 10,000 or decrease it if you want old clips to be discarded more quickly. Whenever AceText automatically captures a clip and the number of clips is greater than the limit, AceText will delete the bottommost clip in the ClipHistory and continue doing so until the number of clips in the ClipHistory equals the limit.

Automatic startup

AceText's handy hotkeys only work while AceText is running. Windows does not allow inactive applications to register hotkeys. To make sure the hotkeys are always available, turn on the automatic startup option. This will make the AceText icon visible next to the system clock, and enable the hotkeys. AceText itself will not appear until you press a hotkey, click the tray icon, or start AceText via a shortcut icon.

If you also enabled the option in the Files Preferences to automatically reload your AceText collections, AceText's automatic startup will add a few seconds to your computer's startup time. The benefit is that your AceText collections are instantly available when you need them.

AceText-aware applications

When you use AcePaste or AceType to paste directly into an application, AceText makes use of the Windows clipboard to send the clip into the application. This means that whatever data was held by the clipboard is lost. It also means that you can readily paste the same text again, since it is already on the clipboard.

If the target application is AceText-aware, however, AceText uses a different method that does not involve the clipboard to send the clip to the target application. This preserves the data that is held by the clipboard.

If you regularly use AceText with both AceText-aware and AceText-unaware applications, it may be confusing that sometimes AceText puts the clip onto the clipboard when you use AcePaste, and sometimes it does not. Therefore, you can select that AceText should also put the clip onto the clipboard when pasting into an AceText-aware application.